Reviews

CHECK AVAILABILITY

Balmuirfield House - Rating 5/5

Fabulous accommodation, spotless and luxurious. Stuart the host was brilliant and a great cook, what more could you want.

Reviewer:john r | Tue 22nd Oct 2019 | 2 weeks ago


A beautiful surprise- Rating 5/5

We were in Dundee, visiting family. The hotel is located almost across the road from where my husband went to school, he had no idea it was there!From the moment we saw the hotel, we knew we were in for a treat. Our host, Stuart, met us and showed us around, offering us a choice of rooms. We selected one with a beautiful, four poster bed.The furniture was elegant and tastefully selected and the bed was very comfy.The bathroom boasted a tub with a separate, walk-in shower.The toiletries were lovely.Breakfast was a heart affair with the same attention to detail.We will be back!

Reviewer:Barbara W | Mon 7th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Best dog friendly b&b in Dundee - Rating 5/5

Our 3rd stay at Balmuirfield, - breakfast,hospitality and cleanliness all excellent. Highly recommend.

Reviewer:Gayle M | Fri 4th Oct 2019 | 1 month ago


Excellent base for exploring around Dundee - Rating 5/5

Lovely spacious house in a very quiet location, but only two minutes drive from the A90 main road.We were made very welcome by our hosts, and stayed three nights, after which the enormous Scottish breakfasts had us tipping the scales rather higher than we like!Would certainly stay again.

Reviewer:Patrick O | Mon 23rd Sep 2019 | 1 month ago


Wonderful B&B - Rating 5/5

We had an excellent 2 night stay at his amazing B&B. The room was beautiful, the bed very comfortable and the owners very warm and friendly. Our little pooch loves it too! Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. We will definitely be back!!

Reviewer:Priyanka G | Mon 2nd Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


An excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

We returned to this B&B having been very impressed on first visit. The rooms are exceptionally spacious and comfortable, the owners are welcoming and the breakfast is first class.The location is quiet and peaceful, yet within easy reach of the city centre.

Reviewer:Dr Alison C | Mon 2nd Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


The best of the best- Rating 5/5

The hotel was spotless clean, as a pet friendly hotel my expectations weren’t high but there’s no hair to be found around hotel.The breakfast - wow especially bacon, the owner great chat and chill out atmosphere.I will be definitely back

Reviewer:Patrycja F | Mon 2nd Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Excellent weekend break in Dundee - Rating 5/5

Welcoming hosts, beautiful home, delicious breakfast!!!! A lovely place to stay in very comfortable rooms.

Reviewer:Alison D | Sun 1st Sep 2019 | 2 months ago


Band B 23 August2019 - Rating 5/5

An excellent nights stay in a four poster be witha tasty smokie for breakfast. Very pleasant owners and a beautiful house

Reviewer:Richard T | Sun 25th Aug 2019 | 2 months ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

Stylish furniture &extremely friendly hosts. Excellent breakfast. Calm location outside city center. We have definitively enjoyed our stay and would come back if we should be again in Dundee. C&U

Reviewer:Clemens Dr G | Tue 6th Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Fabulous oasis- Rating 5/5

Arrived in Edinburgh from Australia.Drove to Dundee and came to this place. Fantastic,Fabulous so welcoming.Rooms we’re spotless breakfast fantastic,lovely lounge to sit in. Thank you for your hospitality.

Reviewer:Anne M | Sat 3rd Aug 2019 | 3 months ago


Would stay again - Rating 5/5

Lovely big spacious bedroom, very comfortable bed and tasteful decor. En suite would benefit greatly from a proper shower over the bath and a mirror over the hand basin. Breakfast excellent with interesting choices and owners very pleasant and helpful. Super dog friendly!

Reviewer:Wendy d | Wed 17th Jul 2019 | 3 months ago


Quiet, elegant, character filled B&B- Rating 5/5

Plenty of parking, a quiet location and a large, beautifully maintained bed and breakfast. Our room was spacious, comfortable, with a four poster bed, amazing furnishings and a well equipped bathroom. Breakfast was delicious and cooked to order by Stuart....his hot smoked salmon was especially yummy. He also has a wealth of knowledge about the local area and was exceedingly approachable.

Reviewer:Marlene B | Thu 27th Jun 2019 | 4 months ago


Awesome! - Rating 5/5

Absolutely amazing place, breakfast was delicious and our hosts were informative, hospitable and warm. Will be back, thank you so much for making us welcome!

Reviewer:Karen H | Sun 23rd Jun 2019 | 4 months ago


Wonderful, dog and people friendly, spotless accomm - Rating 5/5

A return visit, wonderful welcome for us and our dog. Beautifully furnished rooms and delicious breakfasts, what more do you need?

Reviewer:Gayle M | Thu 20th Jun 2019 | 4 months ago


Dundee - Rating 5/5

Very nice and helpful hosts. Also knowledgeable about sightseeing, restaurants in the area. Very big and very comfortable room. Extraordinary breakfast.Small minus:no mirror in the bathroom (only a small one on the shelf).

Reviewer:Gerard S | Sun 16th Jun 2019 | 4 months ago


Classic B&B - A Hidden Gem- Rating 5/5

Elegant country house on the outskirts of Dundee city centre. Bright, airy, large, very clean and comfortable, well fitted bedroom with ensuite, overlooking garden. Host very welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable regarding the local and surrounding areas. Breakfast taken in the pleasant atmosphere of the stylish dining room;good food selection offered;freshly prepared and served with minimum delay. Seating arrangements in dining room , made it very easy to communicate with the other guests. Highly Recommend Classic B&B.

Reviewer:Derek L | Mon 6th May 2019 | 6 months ago


Perfect B&B - Rating 5/5

Stewart and Morag made us feel very welcome in their beautiful home. The room was large, extremely clean with quality toiletries and furnished like something out of Homes &Gardens! There was a wide breakfast choice and everything we tried was delicious. Really enjoyed and stayed.

Reviewer:Ali B | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 6 months ago


Absolutely Fabulous! - Rating 5/5

I had a lovely, comfortable stay at Balmuirfield House.The room was beautifully decorated and furnished, clean and warm;even my dog's needs catered for.The owners were very friendly, the food (breakfast), was excellent with a range of selection choices.I would certainly stay there again when in the area.

Reviewer:Diane G | Mon 29th Apr 2019 | 6 months ago


A hidden very dog friendly gem! - Rating 5/5

I had quite a bit of trouble to find the place, slightly hidden from sight, since the satellite system broke down en route. Once I arrived I had a fantastic time - unfortunately I couldn't enjoy it as much as I would like have had since I attended a conference for a couple of days. Stuart was absolutely fantastic, nice to talk to and breakfast superb! The room and bathroom was kept meticulously clean. And the dogs? On the morning of my departure I was asked if I would like to meet and greet the dogs (so far I had not even heard or seen anything of them at all). To my response 'Why not' Stuart snipped his fingers and in came three ginormous German Shepherds, absolutely friendly and playful. I will have to take my wife back for a weekend stay in Dundee pretty soon. Stuart, many thanks for the great time I had! Andreas

Reviewer:Andreas K | Wed 17th Apr 2019 | 6 months ago


Weekend break- Rating 5/5

Stayed here 2 nights.Our room was beautiful and liked the four poster bed in the room.cant fault the breakfast at all.We both had the full Scottish breakfast the first morning then I had poached eggs the second day.both were good.will hope to come back again sometime soon.

Reviewer:Fiona H | Tue 9th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


A wonderful find! - Rating 5/5

Balmuirfield House was a jewel of a B&B - absolutely splendid, extremely comfortable four-poster bed and a wonderful breakfast - what more could one ask!

Reviewer:Glenys A | Fri 5th Apr 2019 | 7 months ago


4 day\'s stay- Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay, lovely breakfasts beautiful room, all we needed;and very dog friendly. We were made very welcome. Bonus Balmuirfield was very close to my son house, so all great.

Reviewer:Vivienne P | Wed 13th Mar 2019 | 7 months ago


Great place to stay! - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Balmuirfield House for 2 nights. Stuart and Morag were very welcoming. Our room was spacious, comfy and spotlessly clean.Breakfast was delicious. If we go backto Dundee we would certainly stay again.

Reviewer:Gaynor W | Thu 7th Mar 2019 | 8 months ago


2 night b + b - Rating 5/5

Lovely people, lovely dogs, lovely house and lovely gardens. Ben my dog and I had a lovely break, thank you

Reviewer:Hilary H | Tue 26th Feb 2019 | 8 months ago


wee treat away - Rating 5/5

We can happily recommend Balmuirfield House.Spotlessly clean and very comfortable.Stuart and Morag were great hosts.Breakfast covered all our needs and more including vegetarian options.Our dog Josie was also treeted very much as a guest.

Reviewer:Ian M | Tue 19th Feb 2019 | 8 months ago


Overnight B&B ideal for Dundee sightseeing - Rating 5/5

Excellent dog-friendly hospitality in a tastefully decorated period property.Our hosts were very friendly and offered great advice on what to see and do in the area.The breakfast was generous with plenty of choice

Reviewer:Ralph A | Sun 20th Jan 2019 | 9 months ago


Wonderful Hospitality and surroundings - Rating 5/5

My Husband and I stayed at Balmuirfield House for bed and breakfast. From we arrived until we left everything was wonderful. Stuart was a great host. The rooms are beautiful and the breakfast is brilliant. Everything you could want peace and tranquility. I would certainly recommend and I'm looking forward to my next trip to Dundee when I will certainly be booking my accomodation at Balwuirfield House.

Reviewer:Mrs June A | Mon 17th Dec 2018 | 10 months ago


Amazing from start to finish . - Rating 5/5

We arrive on Friday 14 th for two nights away for my husbands 50th.Stewart met us at the door and gave us a tour of the house.Each room was amazing and so unique.We stayed in the green and gold room which was so elegant, clean and comfortable.It had everything in it we needed .The bathroom was very big with a bath and shower.The breakfast was all made fresh again plentiful and a very good selection.Stewart was very helpful and full of knowledge.We would love to go back again next year.We had a very relaxed and quiet weekend.Thanks again.

Reviewer:Margaretanne B | Mon 17th Dec 2018 | 10 months ago


Hidden gem- Rating 5/5

Always a pleasure to stay, friendly welcoming with a homely feel and weakening from a great nights sleep to the thought of one of the best breakfast in Scotland. What more could you ask for.

Reviewer:Keith R | Thu 15th Nov 2018 | 11 months ago


Lovely B&B - Rating 4/5

Enjoyed our stay at Balmuirfield, lovely hosts who were extremely tolerant with our two unruly dogs.

Reviewer:Christine M | Wed 14th Nov 2018 | 11 months ago


Midweek Stay in Dundee Nov 2018 - Rating 5/5

The stay with Stuart and Morag was a true 4 star experience.The hosts were exceedingly welcoming and helpful.The rooms were marvellous, the house and grounds delightful, and the breakfast delicious.We definitely recommend to others.

Reviewer:Brian M | Fri 9th Nov 2018 | 12 months ago


Ticks all the boxes - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Barmuirfield House for 4 nights and we had a lovely relaxing time. While not located in the prettiest part of the city, this beautiful B&B it is situated in private grounds that are exceptionally maintained by its owners. We loved the sympathetic furnishings and the house is extremely clean. The family are very sweet and hospitable and the breakfasts were amazing. We would highly recommend staying atBalmuirfield House Bed And Breakfast.

Reviewer:Jenn J | Wed 17th Oct 2018 | 1 year ago


A wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

We recently stayed one night here at the lovely Balmuirfield House. What a find this is!It was spotlessly clean, our room wonderful (4 poster bed!) and the most welcoming and friendly hosts. Breakfast was delicious and our dog was made most welcome...what can I say other than this is a must visit B&B.

Reviewer:Tony & Pam G | Sat 15th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Great B & B - Rating 5/5

Morag, Stewart and their lovely daughter provide a delightful home they share to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. The breakfast is second to none! If you enjoy smoked salmon we highly recommend the salmon at breakfast. Don’t pass this location by!

Reviewer:Walter T | Tue 11th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Belle chambre et accueil chaleureux - Rating 4/5

Accueil agreable, belle chambre decoration soignee, petit dejeuner meme s'il n'est pas exceptionnel comme indique dans l'offre reste conforme aux assiettes ecossaises proposes dans les B&B.

Reviewer:Herve R | Fri 13th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


What a great find - Rating 5/5

Booked a one night stay here to attend a graduation evening meal in Dundee.The stay was great, good room and a fantastic breakfast.Best thing though was the way we were made so welcome - this doesn't happen everywhere.We even got to meet Elvis - OK so he's a great big (friendly) hairy Alsatian, great fun.We would both recommend, unreservedly, a stay at Balmuirfield House.

Reviewer:John I | Thu 12th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


The best bed and breakfast fit for royalty- Rating 5/5

This has been our second visit and there is not a single that you cannot ask for. The owners would do anything you ask that is if you can find anything required. Very clean and comfortable. We would advise if going in that direction and need somewhere to stay. Don’t hesitate.

Reviewer:Allan P | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Nice stay in an impressive manor house - Rating 5/5

We had a very nice one-night-stay in Balmuirfield House right on the city bounds of Dundee. The bedroom and bathroom in the mansonlike house were tidy and classy at the same time. The full hearty Scottish breakfast ideally prepared us for an adventurous day on the Fife Peninsula.Greetings from GermanyFranziska and Philipp

Reviewer:Philipp D | Sun 24th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Amazing stay at Balmuirfield! - Rating 5/5

Had an amazing stay in this place. The building and rooms were beautiful had character... also spotless and great facilities. The breakfast was INCREDIBLE! I've never had such a luxurious breakfast! Super friendly hosts too! Thank you!

Reviewer:Sarah C | Fri 22nd Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


Very good - Rating 5/5

Another lovely stay. Breakfast was as good as last time with a selection of very tasty fish dishes. Very friendly owners. We will be back.

Reviewer:Joseph S | Mon 28th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent B & B - Rating 5/5

Wonderful house full of character. Clean comfy room. Hosts gave us s lovely welcome and made us feel at home. Yummy breakfast. Would definitely stay again if we were in this area.

Reviewer:Andrew S | Thu 26th Apr 2018 | 1 year ago


Excellent All Round - Rating 5/5

This was a chance booking I made but I'm so glad I made it. My room was fantastic, well appointed, comfortable and spotless with everything I could have wished for. The bathroom was bright, large and airy and outside the house there was plenty of space for parking. I chose to add breakfast which set me up for the day as there was a good selection of cereal and your choice of just about everything you could ask for from a cooked breakfast, made for you and served on hot plates (none of this luke warm buffet nonsense served on cold plates, a pet hate). Just as importantly Stuart and Morag are very welcoming so you almost feel as though you are staying with friends. Location wise it's a few minutes drive into the city centre but if you don't want to use the car there's a bus stop nearby which would take you straight there and is very convenient. If I ever need to stay in the area again I will definitely be seeking to book into the Balmuirfield. It was the excellent reviews that swayed me towards it at the time of my booking and they were not exaggerating but were spot on:excellent in every way.

Reviewer:Avril H | Thu 15th Mar 2018 | 1 year ago


top stay - Rating 5/5

excellent 2 night stay and our 2 hosts were excellent too....a little bit of luxury in a beautiful house and setting.

Reviewer:joe k | Tue 28th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Wee Hidden Gem- Rating 5/5

From the minute I arrived on Friday evening I knew this place had “Soul” . There was a warm and friendly welcome from Stuart . A lovely log fire lit in the guest lounge . The room was tastefully decorated and had everything I needed , as was the private bathroom . The breakfast was made to perfection from good quality ingredients and the house just had a real homely feel to it . This family clearly enjoy what they do and do it with Love . It shows . Will definitely come back and recommend to friends in the area .

Reviewer:Jacqueline C | Sun 19th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Married couple with teenage child - Rating 5/5

Excellent hotel.Very welcoming amazing room and facilities.Great breakfast and very friendly owners.Great to find a place who take dogs and make them very welcome too .Definitely be back and recommend to friends

Reviewer:Anne B | Sat 18th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Perfect Stay - Rating 5/5

Balmuirfield B &B is a real find.We were in Dundee for business and wanted somewhere close to the location.Balmuirfield is tucked away quietly surrounded by trees and you immediately enter a lovely world.Greeted by Morag, one of the owners, there was a real log fire burning in the sitting room.The bedrooms are characterful and comfortable and there's plenty of room.The breakfast was superb with every possible option.We were served early by host Stuart as we needed to leave early. It was not only delicious but another example of where the owners went out of their way to accommodate our stay.

Reviewer:catherine s | Sat 18th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


A place of comfort- Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful rest at Balmuirfield and a very warm welcome for ourselves and our dog. We also enjoyed the sense of privacy we were given. It was like staying in a fine 'house in the country'.I made a special request for poached eggs on toast in the morning and they were perfect.

Reviewer:Nicola L | Sun 15th Oct 2017 | 2 years ago


Hidden gem - Rating 5/5

Wow. From the open door greeting, to the final goodbyes, our stay here was so relaxing in the tranquil setting.Loved the room, which provided everything and more. Also a very tasty, scottish breakfast.The scenery was awesome! Watched the birds and squirrels feeding right outside our bedroom window. Stuart and his lovely family made us so welcome.Highly recommended.Loved it.

Reviewer:Shona W | Sat 30th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Can\'t fault this wonderful B&B - Rating 5/5

Had a wonderful stay at Balmuirfield House.I was in the oriental style room with it's own private tartan bathroom and the most amazingly huge old bath.Breakfast was delicious and served on a roasting hot plate so that every bite was still hot until the last mouthful which I really appreciated. The hosts went out of their way to make me feel welcomed and looked after and I will not hesitate in recommending this B&B.

Reviewer:Helene K | Mon 18th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


One night stay - Rating 5/5

Very warm welcome from Stuart.Lovely room, clean tidy and comfortableExtensive choice for breakfast, nicely cooked

Reviewer:Dugald M | Tue 29th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

Gem of a place, ideally located in a quiet and secluded area of Dundee just a short drive from the centre. Comfy beds, clean rooms, spacious bathroom and decent shower,toiletries, kettle etc provided. Run by a friendly and helpful family, also very dog friendly,I'll be back...

Reviewer:Marisa M | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely place- Rating 5/5

Stayed for one night and loved everything about the place! Room was gorgeous and our breakfast was delicious, can't thank you enough!

Reviewer:Carla M | Mon 21st Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Comfortable, welcoming and very dog friendly - Rating 5/5

This made a perfect stop over on way to Aberdeenshire. Very warm welcome in arrival. Spacious room, very good ensuite.Breakfast perfectly cooked and going well beyond standard fare. Dog towels provided and local walks from the door.

Reviewer:Dr Alison C | Sun 6th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Awesome B&B in Dundee! - Rating 5/5

Beautiful and cosy old house, furnished with much style and taste. Excellent breakfast. Stuart (and his dogs!) were very welcoming. Would definitely stay there again if we come back in the region.

Reviewer:Nicolas F | Fri 4th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Stay in Balmuirfield - Rating 4/5

Lovely house, very nice, welcoming owner, lovely place in the woods.

Reviewer:Ornella G | Thu 27th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

I've stayed here many times and it is truly fantastic..great hosts, lovely gardens and spectacular rooms. I travel with my 3 dogs and Stuart &Morag always make them welcome too.I recommended to a friend visiting from Yorkshire and we had a lovely weekend with our local friends and all our dogs.🙂

Reviewer:Jan G | Thu 29th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Luxury B&B in Dundee - Rating 5/5

We stayed three nights in May 2017 and found it to be a remarkably pleasant experience - five star comfort in four poster beds, spacious rooms, superb breakfasts and delightful hosts. No one could ask for anything more.

Reviewer:Russell T | Tue 13th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Highly recommend- Rating 5/5

Lovely hostSuperb breakfastsLoved the carpet in the bathroom

Reviewer:Peter D | Mon 12th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


Scottish hospitality at its best - Rating 5/5

We chanced upon Balmuirfield when hunting for somewhere we could stay with our two young dalmatians to visit relatives in the area. The setting is lovely and has a place to exercise the dogs close by. It is convenient for the Kingsway (the city ring road) so easy to get to and from. Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable - plenty of space to settle our dogs and a good size en-suite with bath and shower. TV, wi-fi, toiletries and kettle etc provided - plus blankets and treats for the dogs. Breakfasts were first class - but don't expect to need lunch after sampling the Scottish special! Stuart, Morag and Josie were wonderfully welcoming and it felt home from home. We will definitely be back.

Reviewer:Catherine M | Sun 4th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


A wonderful place to stay! - Rating 5/5

Morag and Stuart were wonderful hosts welcoming us to their beautiful inn! The rooms were comfortable, and the breakfast was filling and delicious. Stuart makes the best omelette I've ever tasted! Highly recommended!

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher C | Sat 27th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Stay At Balmuirfield House - Rating 5/5

2 Friends Travelling.My friend and I stayed here on Saturday.The setting and house is beautiful and the rooms and hospitality are first rate.My friend and I then went on to stay at Melville Castle in Edinburgh and I have to say that it was not a patch on Balmuirfield House, Melville Castle could learn a few lessons regarding hospitality and cleanliness of their rooms from Balmuirfield House.Would definitely love to stay at Balmuirfield House again.Natalia

Reviewer:Natalia G | Mon 22nd May 2017 | 2 years ago


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Perfect from start to finish. Excellent location, look for sign on the tree! Stuart and Morag very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Delicious breakfast, room very clean, very comfortable, gorgeous surroundings.We shall be staying here again.

Reviewer:Belinda A | Mon 8th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Great place , host very nice andHelpful. Beautiful bedroom, nice, clean, quiet. We would return without hesitation.Endroit excellent où rester, accueil chaleureux, chambre très propre et confortable, tranquille. Copieux déjeuner.

Reviewer:Carole D | Sat 29th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Fantastic Hosts - true hospitality - Rating 5/5

Stuart and Morag could not have done better. We arrived straight from an overnight flight, and they offered us evening snacks, wine, ICE for our drinks, and built a roaring fire in the lounge, just for us. We will return.

Reviewer:Ms. Lori G | Thu 27th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

The surroundings were beautiful, room spotlessly clean with all the amenities you would need. Breakfast was excellent and attention to detail fantastic, from the small pot of fresh fruit, personal jug of orange juice to a choice of breakfast. Full Scottish highly recommended.

Reviewer:Susan A | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

Lovely old house in a very quiet location, spotlessly clean and lovely decor.Very friendly and accomodating owners, great breakfast with top quality produce and the beds are very comfortable - had the best sleep I've ever had in a hotel bed.Would highly recommend

Reviewer:madeleine l | Fri 31st Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


A Gem of a Find - Rating 5/5

If you plan to visit the Dundee area and are looking for a B&B then look no further.Balmuirfield House and the owners, Stuart and Morag, offer an excellent and unique base to explore the Tayside and Angus regions.This a beautiful house with well appointed andexemplary furnishedbedrooms.Stuart and Morag are fabulous hosts who will make you very welcome.Breakfasts are freshly made to order and delicious. Give Balmuirfield B&B a serious consideration next time you visit Dundee.Roseanna and Alex Hood, Hamilton

Reviewer:Roseanna H | Fri 24th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


As good as they get! - Rating 5/5

This was my 3rd (or was it 4th Stuart....I cant remember!!) stay at the Balmuirfield and as before it was perfection. Beautiful home, lovely food, great location and friendly interesting (&interested) hosts. If I had the time I would stay here every month it really is that nice. Hope to arrange a weekend soon to bring my good lady wife (instead of it being a business stop over) so we can enjoy the area. THIS....is how to do a bed &breakfast. Thanks again guys, see you soon, Mike.

Reviewer:Michael G | Fri 17th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


a wonderful find on the edge of the city - Rating 5/5

A wonderful welcome awaits you in this B&B. Its a beautiful house tucked away on the edge of the city and the owners could not have made us more welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. The dog loved the surrounding walks.If you get the chance have an evening meal - easily matches any of the upmarket venues we have eaten in!

Reviewer:Mr & Mrs G | Mon 13th Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


Beautiful House - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Balmuirfield House in December as we were attending a Christening in Dundee.The hosts are lovely and very welcoming.The rooms are huge and beautifully decorated.Breakfast was lovely, good choices.The sitting room with the open fire was very relaxing and as it was close to Christmas the decorations and Christmas trees made it feel very festive.We would not hesitate to stay here again.You will not be disappointed staying at Balmuirfield House and it is dog friendly too.

Reviewer:Mr. Mike S | Mon 20th Feb 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent Overnight Stay - Rating 5/5

Stayed one night on the recommendation of a Belgian colleague.It was very comfortable and we were well looked after.Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Trevor B | Fri 20th Jan 2017 | 2 years ago


Best B & B by far - Rating 5/5

Just the best nights sleep,great full breakfast. Family run B &B run at 6star rooms are a joy to stay in and I will be going back again and again thank you

Reviewer:Keith R | Wed 18th Jan 2017 | 2 years ago


Best place to stay in Dundee - Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic stay at Balmuirfield! Excellent hospitality and great rooms and food. We were treated like family visitors and would stay again any time! Flawless!

Reviewer:Craig R | Sat 7th Jan 2017 | 2 years ago


Visit Dundee - Rating 5/5

superb food, Pleasant stay, Felt welcome, nothing too much trouble for our hosts.

Reviewer:Trevor J | Tue 13th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

The house is big and cozy and luxurious. Our room was also clean and spacious. We received a welcome pack for our dog which was very nice. The owners are very friendly and helpful, the breakfast excellent. Would definitely stay again :)

Reviewer:Sabine B | Mon 28th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Had a really nice time... - Rating 5/5

We spend a week in Balmuirfield House and really enjoyed our stay. Very closely situated to the city and very friendly for any two or four legged guests... We enjoyed the room, hospitality, and especially the breakfast...

Reviewer:Mr. Andreas G | Sat 12th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Beautiful House and location - Rating 5/5

We cannot recommendBalmuirfield House enough. The building is beautiful and our room was outstanding. We were well looked after and enjoyed our stay immensely. The atmosphere is very friendly and the breakfast excellent. We would certainly stay again.

Reviewer:Richard J | Mon 31st Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Nice holydays - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant stay at balmuirfield, hosts are nice and breakfast very good! Large and well decorated rooms.

Reviewer:Sebastien C | Sat 29th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Top place- Rating 5/5

Lovely house,setting and hosts. A bath the size that you could sleep in quite comfortably when you other half is snoring,very accommodating to the lost travelers ,Thanks for a great time

Reviewer:Nicholas H | Fri 28th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


faultless - Rating 5/5

Peace and absolute niceness look no futher , everything faultless just love to stay here x

Reviewer:Jan H | Thu 27th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Beautiful rooms- Rating 5/5

This is a lovely stay, rooms are very beautiful and the breakfast is the best I've ever had at any B&b.The Egyptian room is perfect..Thank you..

Reviewer:Mr. Alan G | Sun 23rd Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Outstanding! - Rating 5/5

Atmosphere,accommodation cuisine and hospitality were all superb, looking forward to staying there again.

Reviewer:Albert H | Mon 17th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


It doesn\'t get any better - Rating 5/5

We had a fabulous stay here which we thoroughly enjoyed. Stuart, Morag and Josey made us feel very welcome and couldn't do enough for us. We would recommend staying here if you are ever in th Dundee area. Thanks again for a great stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Darryl H | Sun 16th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


A touch of class - Rating 5/5

What's not to like. This beautiful and spotless B&B has fantastic rooms (some with very comfortable 4 poster beds) which are stylishly decorated to a very high standard. About 100 metres off the road and surrounded by lovely gardens and trees you have privacy, peace and quiet. However, the real plus for us was that they were happy to accommodate our son, who lives in Dundee, for breakfast. And what a breakfast. A small bowl of fresh fruit at each place when you arrive and a jug of OJ. Plenty of cereals and yoghurts to choose from also. There was of course the traditional full Scottish breakfast but what made this for me was the 4 (yes FOUR) fish options that were also available. This time it was the Arbroath smokies. Next time it will probably be the smoked haddock. Highly recommend this B&B.

Reviewer:Joseph S | Tue 11th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

Everything about our short stay was wonderful. A very warm welcome from the family, beautiful bedroom, facilities excellent, glorious setting, ideal location.A really lucky find.We shall be looking for excuses to stay again.Thank you

Reviewer:Mrs. Carole L | Mon 10th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

We had a great overnight stay at Balmuirfield B &B on Tuesday 2/10/16.We were made very welcome by our hostStewart &shown to our beautifully furnished &decorated room. It was very spacious&featured a stunning four poster bed complete with a luxurious canopy. Matching floor to ceiling drapescovered the bay windows. We found out that all the drapery was hand made by Morag Stewart's wife.Stewart proved to be a very attentive host &cooked us a delicious breakfast in the morning.It was very pleasant to be the guests of folk who are passionate about what they do.We could thoroughly recommend Balmuirfield House to any intending travellers.

Reviewer:Mr. Bill S | Wed 5th Oct 2016 | 3 years ago


Just Perfect - Rating 5/5

It's a shame we could only stay one night. The old Victorian home is really perfect and well thought out. When we arrived we were greeted by the owner and their cute little daughter, Josie. She made us feel so welcome. The innkeepers were so accommodating. When we were leaving the following morning, our tire was low and in no time, the owner had a pump and was helping us get on our way. Such a nice place to visit. The only thing they could do differently is put a big sign on the main road and maybe a couple of arrows to the house. We almost missed it. I'd love to go back!

Reviewer:Mrs. Angie B | Fri 30th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

Perfect location, really nice hosts! Worth staying!

Reviewer:Mrs. Lea S | Mon 26th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

The Balmuirfield exceeded our expectations,which were high since we had read the reviews online. The room, the welcome, the food and everything else about this place means that if we are ever in Dundee we will certainly be at the Balmuirfield.

Reviewer:Mr. Steve B | Sun 25th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Autumn Break - Rating 5/5

A very special place to stay! Beautiful house, lovely rooms, varied choice at breakfast and the perfect hosts Stuart and Morag.

Reviewer:Mrs. Cheryl B | Tue 20th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


I recommend it warmly - Rating 5/5

Beautiful house, quiet place, palace-style room, excellent and rich breakfast, very nice people.I advise a GPS to help finding the house.

Reviewer:Mr. constantin m | Tue 20th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Warm and peaceful - Rating 5/5

Quiet area away from the cityHappy family Experience with respect for the guestsExcellent food

Reviewer:Mr. herman van e | Sat 17th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Hotel stay - Rating 4/5

I had one night stay at his property the rooms are fantastic and nice views from the windows breakfast is very nice. The Welcome from Stuart is fantastic.

Reviewer:Jessica L | Sat 10th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


One night was way too little - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay at Balmuirfeld House even though it was really hard to find... But the house is absolutely stunning and Stewart, Morag and Josephine are lovely hosts. Still really in awe about all the decorations and awesome rooms! The recommendations for dinner were great and the breakfast was one of the best ever. I would definitely love to come back for a longer stay.

Reviewer:Marie-Luise N | Mon 5th Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Relaxing break - Rating 5/5

Welcoming hosts.Spacious 4-poster bedroom.Excellent food.What more do you want ?

Reviewer:Eric G | Thu 1st Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


thankyou - Rating 5/5

A haven , i arrived late , tired and everything was perfect a lovely place to stay looking forward to a return stay .

Reviewer:Jan H | Tue 30th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Wonderful place - Rating 5/5

Spent 2 nights at this beautiful place. Everything was super😊😊Wonderful and tasty breakfast.

Reviewer:Hafdis Eyglo J | Mon 29th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Perfect stay.They are super friendly

Reviewer:Noe I | Tue 23rd Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Great place to stay! - Rating 5/5

My partner, dog and I got a spectacularly warm welcome from Stuart, Morag and Josephine. The atmosphere was lovely and breakfast was yummy. A great place for humans &canines.

Reviewer:Dr. Lori B | Mon 22nd Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Fantastic Dog Friendly Hotel - Rating 5/5

Had a fantastic overnight stay, made to feel very welcome by Morag, Stuart and Jose. Rooms were of a very high standard and the breakfast was delicious. Would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend to others.

Reviewer:Vicky D | Mon 15th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Good accommodation - Rating 4/5

Nice quiet location. Very pleasant stay with excellent breakfast

Reviewer:Colin M | Mon 15th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Great stay just outside town - Rating 5/5

Great secluded location outside of town. Nicely decorated rooms and comfortable bed. Stuart prepares superb breakfasts in morning and cant do enough for you. Morag is warm and friendly too. They go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable.

Reviewer:Paul R | Mon 8th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Wonderful Stay - Rating 5/5

This is the best B&B we've ever stayed at. Beautiful room, great breakfasts &Stewart and Morag are exceptional hosts.We regularly stay here when we come to Dundee.

Reviewer:Mike & Marguerite B | Mon 1st Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


The best B&B I ever had been!!!! - Rating 5/5

Great B&B;everything perfect;Breakfast with homemade strawberry jam + perfect scottish breakfast;even well - cooked fish in the morning:rooms and bathrooms great;Stuart and his family are very nice and the hospitality is remarkable. this is the best venue I ever had in UK and I can highly recommend this house!

Reviewer:Mr. Dieter B | Sat 30th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Brilliant Idyll in Dundee - Rating 5/5

Friendly welcome to a marvellous house in its own grounds.Spacious, clean rooms and residents' lounge.Stuart and Morag were great hosts and served up a tasy Scottish breakfast - the Arbroath Smokies were delicious. Easy checkout using bank/credit card.Would we stay again - definitely!

Reviewer:Tony D | Tue 26th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Balmuirfield house - Rating 5/5

This is a lovely place! Stayed for two nights, very comfortable and peaceful. Stuart is an excellent host, warm friendly greeting on arrival and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is second too none. Would stay here again and would recommend to anyone. Excellent!

Reviewer:Mr John C | Tue 19th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


FIRST CLASS - EXCELLENT - Rating 5/5

We never normally book B&B's but this exceeded all expectations. Hubby and self stayed for a night. Booked into Green and Gold room.First appearance, hidden gem, beautiful building.Morag was a wonderful hostess who made us so welcome and showed us round and to our room.Our room was beautiful. Large 4 poster bed. They have got all the touches that is needed. Alarm clock, hairdryer, coat hangers, tea/coffee facilities. Bathroom was spotless, toothbrush holder (rather than using one of the tumblers), magnifying mirror. Lovely toiletries, shower gel/shampoo/conditioner. Big fluffy towels.Breakfast room is lovely, it was so inviting and we sat in the window seat. Stuart was our host for breakfast and a great one at that. Fully advised on available food and took the time to chat and took in what we were speaking about.Breakfast was absolutely wonderful. Can't fault anything.All in all if they were on 4in a bed - they would certainly be the winners. If I ever need accommodation again in Dundee this would be my first choice.thanks guy for making our stay so pleasurable.Jackie and Paul

Reviewer:Jackie H | Mon 18th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Classic country home - Rating 5/5

Bit difficult to find as signage on main roadas covered by tree branches and restricted by council.Owner very helpful and courteous rooms nicely presented and clean. Bathroom had shampoos, creams and tissues supplied. Very useful.There was a lounge room for guests to use, with a beautiful fireplace.Bed four poster and comfortable. Room reasonably large, so plenty of spare for suitcases.Breakfast menu very good food well prepared and tasty.Wouldn't hesitate to recommend and will stay again if in area.

Reviewer:Sandra B | Mon 11th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Great welcome, great stay - Rating 5/5

As before when we have stayed at Balmuirfield, we were made to feel incredibly welcome. The house, bedrooms and bathrooms are beautifully well kept and the breakfast in the morning is the best ever! We will definitely be back.

Reviewer:Mr Rod G | Mon 11th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Thanks - Rating 5/5

Very nice place, extraordinairy rooms, great breakfast and a very helpfull owner

Reviewer:Mr. Martin G | Mon 4th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Warm Welcome! - Rating 5/5

Our two night stay was just wonderful!Friendly welcome, beautifully clean bedroom and super breakfasts - what more could one ask for?Thank you Stuart and Morag for looking after us and making us feel so very welcome - we look forward to coming back!

Reviewer:Joyce R | Sat 25th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Tucked away Treasure - Rating 5/5

Just had a fantastic 2 day stay in the beautiful Balmuirfield House, so tastefully decorated and welcoming even with our dog. Fantastic accommodation and fantastic food and lovely family running it, felt like a guest in their house :-)

Reviewer:Trish G | Sat 25th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Great for vegans - Rating 5/5

This is a real gem of a place. Delightful rooms in a lovely quiet location. Stuart and Morag were very hospitable and the vegan breakfast they provided for me was truly amazing.

Reviewer:Su M | Wed 22nd Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Highly recomended - Rating 5/5

I can not find any fault here, friendly, clean, comfortable, generous.one of the best in my opinion !

Reviewer:Robert H | Wed 22nd Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Great for Dogs! - Rating 5/5

Nice secluded location, friendly owners, nice clean big and well decorated rooms. Treat bags for the dogs and a large woodland area next to the house for taking the dogs for walks.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard C | Mon 20th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


An oasis of calm, beauty and charm - Rating 5/5

On arrival at Balmuirfield House, my husband and I, along with our pet dog, were warmly welcomed by our host and shown to our room. We stayed in the delightfully sumptuous Egyptian room and enjoyed a restful night's sleep in the big comfortable bed. In the morning we were served a very enjoyable breakfast in the dining room where nothing wax too much trouble for our hosts.The only downside for us was that we couldn't stay longer. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Mrs. Leigh H | Mon 13th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Above and Beyond Expectations.- Rating 5/5

We can not begin to express how much we enjoyed our week long stay at Balmuirfield House. Our hosts were gracious and generous of their time,assistance and dedication. Excellent breakfasts with numerous,quality options and local produce.(If you are fortunate enough to be there for strawberry season you are in for a divine treat.) Clean,comfortable and lovely rooms that were tastefully decorated with historical appointments to detail. An elegant,comfy den for reading and socializing. One can breathe in the quietness of the grounds bursting with rhododendrons,conifers, lavender, poppies and hedgerows dotted with aged stone walls. Our hosts were well informed,gregarious and charming. Even their dogs were polite and well behaved. The taxi service was always prompt,clean,informative and thoughtful. This was our first trip to Dundee to see my historical roots and our stay at Balmuirfield was an integral part to this experience. We would most definitely stay here again (like the numerous patrons we met at breakfast that were perennial guests). Thank you, Lisa and David of Ontario, Canada.

Reviewer:Mrs. Lisa M | Thu 9th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely friendly place to stay! - Rating 5/5

Can't fault this place! Set in a peaceful setting yet within easy access to central Dundee or Broughty Ferry, the owners are particularly friendly and helpful, the grounds are lovely, the building is beautifully decorated, the beds are super-comfortable, the breakfast options are varied (and delicious!). Perfect! And they welcome dogs.

Reviewer:Pam C | Sat 28th May 2016 | 3 years ago


very good Thank you Steward - Rating 5/5

Tolle Gastgeber ein perfekter Platz um die Umgebung zu erkunden. Unbedingt empfehlenswert!!

Reviewer:Johannes R | Fri 27th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Luxury bed and breakfast - Rating 5/5

Looking for a place to stay as attending charity event and came across this gem of a bed and breakfast hosts Stuart and Morag made you feel at home.We had the four poster green and gold room and it was out of this world lovely large room and all spotlessly clean would high recommend, breakfasts were lovely the other rooms are all very luxurious lovely quiet surroundings.

Reviewer:Senga W | Mon 23rd May 2016 | 3 years ago


Hidden Gem - Rating 5/5

We only stayed one night unfortunately, however the quality far surpassed the quantity. Firstly it's a stunning house in a beautiful setting, surrounded by woodland, which Tammy our dog loved. Stuart and Morag made us feel really welcome right from the start and gave us a tour of the house. Tammy was made a fuss off and Stuart put as ease with regards to where she could go etc.. We stayed in the gold room with its stunning period furniture and an excellent four poster bed, real luxury. Stuart gave us plenty of options for dog friendly activities and places to eat which was really helpful. The breakfast was outstanding, fresh fruit, cereal, toast, lots of options for a cooked breakfast as well, nothing was a problem.In short we had an outstanding stay and will definitely be back again, myself and Julia would recommend it to anyone, whether using it as a holiday base or as we did a short relaxing break.Thank you Stuart, Morag &Josephine 😃

Reviewer:Mr. Shaun N | Sat 21st May 2016 | 3 years ago


5 stars lovely hosts and bed and breakfast....didn\'twant to leave - Rating 5/5

Lovely views, lovely cosy room with comfy bed loved the decor and furniture..lovely friendlyaccommodating host's lovely cooked breakfast...Morag and Stuart and doggies very friendly enjoyed banter with them...we didn't want to leave...we will be back soon ☺

Reviewer:Raymond B | Mon 16th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Balmuirfield House Bed and Breakfast - Rating 5/5

We spent a lovely 2 nights at Balmuirfield House in a large,very clean and comfortable room...with a fantastic 4 poster bed. It was obvious our dogs were very welcome (they even had their own doggy welcome pack) which always makes us more relaxed when staying anywhere. The room had everything we needed and breakfast was delicious with lots to choose from.Wish we could have stayed on another couple of days to enjoy more of the peace and relaxed atmosphere. Thank you Stuart for your welcome.We hope to be back for another visit soon.

Reviewer:Ramsay S | Wed 4th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely break - Rating 5/5

Balmuirfield house was lovely, as a special weekend away was perfect. Thank you to Stewart and Morag and well done for having done so well,hope to return again.

Reviewer:Karen T | Mon 2nd May 2016 | 3 years ago


Magic. The description says it all. - Rating 5/5

Dear Stuart, I have left our positive review on Trip Advisor.

Reviewer:ERIC R | Mon 2nd May 2016 | 3 years ago


What a stay - Rating 5/5

Well what a stay this was....even with a couple eventfull days not due to the guest house we were made to feel so welcome....food was so good and well the rooms...brilliant!!!! We ended the last day with problem with the car and unlike a lot of guest houses we were not hurried out and was allowed to use our room till our car was taken away and a loaner arrived....with great service and warmth like this we will be using Balmuirfield again and again when we are holidaying in the district

Reviewer:David B | Sun 24th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Fantastic- Rating 5/5

If you need a place to stay in Scotland go here fantastic

Reviewer:Simon P | Thu 21st Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent Accommodation - Rating 5/5

Friendly welcome (once we located the house), very good room, excellent breakfast, chatty hosts, family atmosphere.

Reviewer:Donnie M | Mon 18th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Thank You - Rating 5/5

Stuart and Morag were the most welcoming, friendly and helpful couple.We stayed in the ‘Green and Gold’ room it was very spacious, well furnished with particularly high quality soft furnishings.The breakfasts were one of the highlights, a tremendous number of choices, high quality produce, very well cooked and nicely presented. If you have the breakfast do not book anywhere for an early lunch.Balmuirfield House, in our view had all the qualities of a Boutique Hotel.A fantastic 6* B&BJane and Tony (North Ayrshire)

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony T | Mon 18th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


simply excellent - Rating 5/5

Its hard to put into words what I want to say about this place. so It will be short.Clean, Friendly, Comfortable, great breakfast, great owners. most definitely go back.

Reviewer:Glenn R | Thu 14th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Balmuirfield House April 2016 - Rating 5/5

I've stayed here twice recently, both times with the family dog for a few days, after seeing it was dog-friendly accommodation. Balmuirfield House is has the feel of a small country house hotel, set in the outskirts of Dundee by open fields and by water. The owners, Stuart and Morag, are very welcoming and were more than obliging, even kindly looking after the dog one day - this is so much more than a dog-friendly accommodation. The accommodation is a class above most 4* B&B's with antique furniture and good decor. The breakfasts are recommended - smoked salmon with scrambled egg in particular. Definitely recommended, even if you don't have dogs.

Reviewer:Nick R | Tue 12th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


worth going to Dundee just to stay here - Rating 5/5

Beautiful rooms, great hosts and fantastic breakfast try it

Reviewer:Stewart R | Sun 10th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed one only night but we will be delighted for much longer stay. The owner kindly wellcomed us , giving all the information about area. Our room was very clean fresh and bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was fantastic:ekvivalent to 5 star hotel! Highly recomended

Reviewer:Joseph T | Fri 1st Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Hidden Gem - Rating 5/5

This lovely friendly small hotel is set in beautiful woodland and excellently situated for Dundee and exploring the surrounding area.The facilities are superb and the owners are great hosts and nothing is too much bother for them.We have also taken our little Westie there in the past and she was really welcomed to this excellent hidden gem.

Reviewer:Mrs. Alison B | Mon 21st Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


Very good - Rating 5/5

Stay at this place, breakfast very good.

Reviewer:David C | Mon 14th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


Stunning pet friendly accommodation - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming hosts, fabulous accommodation with the bonus of being pet friendly. Stunning rooms and breakfasts to die for. We highly recommend.

Reviewer:Gayle M | Thu 10th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


Fantastic two nightstay - Rating 5/5

Warmly welcomed on arrival by Stuart the owner who had beautiful fire awaiting us in the lounge,showed us to our room and explained everything to us from breakfast in morning and local information.Gorgeous four poster bedroom,pristine and very clean. Excellent choice at breakfast, smoked salmon and scrambled egg and arbroath smokies cooked to perfection,as was the full scottish traditional breakfast the next morning.Great watching the wild-life from the breakfast room,we saw deer, a buzzard,pheasant and wild birds.The owners,Stuart and Morag were excellent hosts, very welcoming and made us feel at home. B&B is in a beautiful setting with easy access to Dundee city centre and surrounding area and easily deserves its rating. Thoroughly enjoyed our whole stay. Thankyou Stuart and Morag.

Reviewer:Marion G | Tue 8th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


Outstanding B&B - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Balmuirfield House for 2 nights in March.The house is tucked away along a short track off the road and is very secluded. There is no road noise and you could be forgiven for thinking you are miles out in the countryside.The accommodation is first rate, all rooms are very well appointed.(We had a very comfortable 4 poster bed and a lovely bathroom with a bath and separate shower.Stuart and Morag were very attentive and couldn't do enough for us.The breakfast was fantastic with a range of Fruit, cereals and lovely cooked breakfast.Would heartily recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in Dundee but out of the city centre.

Response

Thank you for the lovely comments. We hope to welcome you both back to Balmuirfield in the future. Best regards, Stuart, Morag & wee Josephine.

Reviewer:Dave A | Fri 4th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


A weekend in Feb - Rating 5/5

We were fortunate to visit Dundee on a weekend in Feb when the skies were blue.We were doubly fortunate to have found this fantastic B&B.If your idea of a B&B doesn't include luxury accommodation, then think again, this is a place to change your mind.The rooms are large, tastefully decorated and furnished, the breakfast was fresh and tasty - we had the full scottish and didn't need to eat until the evening, and Stuart was friendly and welcoming.Why would you go to a formulaic hotel chain when you could enjoy an establishment of this character?

Response

We\'re so glad you and Catherine enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the lovely comments, it\'s really appreciated. We hopefully look forward to welcoming you back to sunny Dundee. It\'s always sunny in Dundee! #sunshinecapitalofscotland

Reviewer:William C | Thu 3rd Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


Satisfaction Guaranteed - Rating 5/5

Proprietors, Morag &Stuart, are a most hospitable couple in relation to everything going on within the four walls of Balmuirfield House, but also in relation to anything you may wish to do or know as regards Dundee or further afield. Tastefully chosen interior furnishings in all rooms. Breakfast 3 Rosettes! Top quality ingredients and well prepared. It was as if we were being entertained by good friends!

Reviewer:Ann & Rolf D | Sun 1st Sep 2013 | 6 years ago


Awesome Scottish Service and food - Rating 5/5

We loved Balmuirfield house, first because of the warm hospitality from Stuart but also because it is classy and homy with a nice originality to it. Food is great which was not always the case in our last stay in Scitland and service is Relais Chateaux level. Could be back

Reviewer:Nicholas M | Sat 31st Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


Welcomed like old friends! - Rating 5/5

I chose Balmuirfield house for the second time when I visited the University of Dundee in my external examiner role. I discovered this gem on my first visit because I was looking for dog-friendly accommodation. Stewart was waiting for us on the doorstep when we arrived and treated us like old friends. the rest of the stay was equally special. We were housed in the luxurious Egyptian room with windows looking over the front and side gardens. Our bed was sleep inducing and our small granddaughter who was travelling with us enjoyed the comfort of her very own double bed. The dogs were provided with their own colour-coordinated bedding and luxury home-made dog biscuits. Breakfast was fresh, delicious and cooked to order. We will be back!P.S. My name is MacVane. Please change the spelling on the review. The field does not allow me to make changes.

Reviewer:Fiona M | Wed 28th Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


Dundee Delight - Rating 5/5

really warm welcome and great accomodation - home from home with a true Scottish edge.

Reviewer:Andrea & Simon C | Sat 24th Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


Stopped here yet again - Rating 5/5

I've lost count now how many times I've stopped here but I've never been disappointed with anything here. Same applies this time. Thanks for looking after me again. David

Reviewer:David W | Fri 23rd Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic stay at Balmuirfield House ! Stuart and Morag are the most friendly and welcoming hostst.We stayed in the "green and gold"room. It was luxurious and spacious with a great en-suite bahtroom.

Reviewer:Peter V | Tue 13th Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


Top B&B- Rating 5/5

very friendly hosts, nice atmosphere, lovely interior, breakfast is excellent

Reviewer:Dr. Christiane N | Tue 6th Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Everything looks exactly like the photos on the website. Best "full Scotish breakfast"I had in Scottland and very kind hosts incl. Josie. I'm not sure when we will be in Scotland next time but I know exactly which B&B we will try to book.Best wishes to Morag, Josie and Stewart from Anja &Antonio

Reviewer:Mr. Antonio C | Sat 3rd Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


honeymoon - Rating 5/5

A home from home Stuart and morag are friendly its a beautiful retreat our room was everything we wanted.Breakfast is fabulous, we will go back again.we're originally from Dundee didn't know it was there . Warm and friendly the owners are welcoming..

Reviewer:Kevin M | Thu 1st Aug 2013 | 6 years ago


Best in Scotland - Rating 5/5

I've stopped here now on many occasions and always had superb service.The rooms are all great with fantastic linen and beautiful curtains and fittings.The rooms with the 4 poster beds are really lovely and worth the little extra.Stuart always has provided me with a wonderful breakfast not just your normal bacon and eggs affair. Normally I will have their smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or Arbroath Smoky (a whale on a plate).Morag and Stuart are fantastic hosts and little Josie is a delight.I've probably just done myself a great dis-service as now you will all know about one of the best B &B in Scotland and I'll probably struggle to get in from now.However they deserve it for their hard work.Do yourself a favour GO THERE!David Wilkinson (regular user)

Reviewer:David W | Sat 6th Jul 2013 | 6 years ago


recent stay - Rating 5/5

excellent service,beutiful rooms,griounds.warm friendly welcome and stay.highly recommended.

Reviewer:Susan W | Tue 11th Jun 2013 | 6 years ago


stay - Rating 5/5

The friendliness and professionalism of Morag, Stewart&Josephine made our stay a very happy one. Comfort and attention to detail is apparent throughout the guest house, making a return visit a priority!

Reviewer:Mr. William L | Mon 10th Jun 2013 | 6 years ago


Recommended - Rating 5/5

Spacious room en-suite. Very clean and good bed.

Reviewer:Mr. Wilfredo F | Sun 26th May 2013 | 6 years ago


Great Experience - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant and peaceful stay.The house is beautiful and the whole family very friendly and extremely helpful. We were travelling with 2 large dogs and it is rare to be treated as normal guests we could not have been made more welcome. Thank you, Sue &Tony Lintern ( Angus &Skye)

Reviewer:Susan L | Thu 23rd May 2013 | 6 years ago


An enjoyable stay - Rating 5/5

I had one night at Balmuirfield House, very friendly and comfortable with an excellent breakfast, I woulddefinitely stay again.

Reviewer:Bob J | Thu 23rd May 2013 | 6 years ago


Excellent experience - Rating 5/5

The rooms are exceptionally comfortable, well appointed and clean (probably the nicest hotel rooms I've been in) and the owners will go out of their way to make you comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel. Home cooked breakfast very tasty too and in a nice corner of Scotland, with Dundee, rural Perthshire and St Andrews/Fife all on the doorstep.

Reviewer:Mr. James M | Wed 22nd May 2013 | 6 years ago


Top B&B in Dundee - Rating 5/5

Only a few miles away from the city centre, one can find 'Balmuirfield House'. A very quiet mansion, tastefully renovated, located in a forest setting. The rooms are big, the bathroom perfect! Stuart serves the full Scottish breakfast and in the meanwhile he gives you very enthousiastically tips about a splendid journey in the highlands or near the sea coast. It was our 3rd visit during the last 9 monts:this says enough, doesn't it?

Reviewer:Dirk W | Mon 20th May 2013 | 6 years ago


Great find - Rating 5/5

We don't normally stay in b&bs but struggling to find a hotel we came across this b&b &decided to book it...&we were glad we did! Beautiful house &beautiful surroundings! Our room was big &spacious, beautifully decorated &a fantastic 4 poster bed. The owners couldn't have been nicer &made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was great. Would highly recommend staying here 

Reviewer:Mr. Michael S | Wed 15th May 2013 | 6 years ago


Beautiful Balmuirfield House- Rating 5/5

Balmuirfield House is the most stately and beautiful home, a unique B&B of outstanding quality only to be surpassed by its gracious hosts, Stuart and Morag.My daughter and I stayed for three nights while recently visiting the Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art &Design.This is a B&B of the highest standard where the furnishings are elegant yet enticingly comfortable.Guests are made to feel very welcome in this home and there is an underlying sense that you have returned to visit old friends.The woodland setting at Balmuirfield House is tranquil yet energising where songful birdlife contributes to the ambience.This B&B is immaculately clean with ultra modern amenities, an easily accessible property within striking distance of the town centre.Breakfast is fresh, healthy and abundant with an extensive choice to suit everyone.No matter how long you stay at this lovely place it will not seem long enough.We can't wait to return some day.

Reviewer:Page S | Sun 12th May 2013 | 6 years ago


enjoy the true scotland - Rating 5/5

Perfect place to stay if you want to get in touch with scottish culture. Kindly reception and very good breakfast. Very comfortable bed!

Reviewer:Miss. Alessia La F | Wed 1st May 2013 | 6 years ago


First Class - Rating 5/5

A diamond of a find.Great location and hospitality.We really wish we could have stayed for longer and the next time we will.Loved the little touches.A real dog friendly establishment.The Coffey Family.

Reviewer:Brian C | Mon 29th Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


Balmuirfied House - Rating 5/5

Lovely spacious bedroom. Everything spotlessly clean.Very welcoming hosts. Perfect in every way.

Reviewer:M | Sun 28th Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


5 stars, easily - Rating 5/5

We had a great time staying at Balmuirfield. We loved everything about our stay and next time we visit the east coast of Scotland will definitely look to stay with Morag, Stuart (and wee Josie) again.

Reviewer:Mr. Steve P | Mon 22nd Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


Another fantastic stay! - Rating 5/5

We were looking forward to staying at Balmuirfield House Hotel as it was a chance to catch up with our fantastic hosts Morag &Stuart and to have an audience with "princess Josephine"! Our room again was very, very comfortable and had everything we needed. The dogs were well provided for with blankets and a lovely treat. The hosts provided us with our own amazing treat on the 2nd evening! The breakfast...excellent quality and kept us going through the whole day.All in all, 1st class hospitality, excellent food, comfortable stay....we can't wait to come back for the 4th time!

Reviewer:Mr. Steve L | Mon 8th Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

We received a very warm welcome from all the family and this was a start to a first rate stay. The house is well described as luxury accomadation and is spotlessly clean. The hole stay was unfaultable, we would not hesitate to stay again. We would recommend a stay to any one and we will be back soon. Thanks very much Paula and Patrick

Reviewer:Mrs C | Tue 2nd Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

Our stay was absolutely first class, the sheer luxury of the rooms was outstanding, Stuart and Morag the owners were so welcoming and friendly, and not forgetting the entertainment, little Josephine, I would recommend 10/10. Excellent does not even cover it. We will certainly return. Thank You to Stuart and Morag.

Reviewer:Mrs. Martina A | Mon 1st Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


Don't miss out on staying here - Rating 5/5

This is probably the best money you will ever spend on a B &B.I've been staying here during my visits to Scotland over the last year and Stuart and Morag have never let me down.The Bedrooms are superb (Quality 4 Poster beds are available with the best in linen).The Breakfasts are fantastic, with a good choice of freshly cooked options which are done AFTER you order.Stuart is always up for a bit of banter too if you want it.I've probably shot myself in the foot putting this review online because I'll probably struggle to get in now, but it really is that good and they deserve the praise.

Reviewer:David W | Fri 22nd Mar 2013 | 6 years ago


Excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome from Morag &Josephine with a great room to stay in at a great price. Stuart cooked a marvelous breakfast before I left. To sum up I would rate this 10 out of 10. Well done to you all!

Reviewer:Mr. Simon R | Wed 20th Mar 2013 | 6 years ago


one night stay - Rating 5/5

Fantastic. Will use again when in Dundee, 10 out f 10

Reviewer:James W | Tue 19th Mar 2013 | 6 years ago


A very good decision - Rating 5/5

A beautiful property and truly welcoming hosts.Morag and Stuart are clearly in the right business.I am very glad that we came across this B&B while looking for lodging in/near Dundee.We'll be back come graduation time.

Reviewer:Mr Don W | Mon 4th Mar 2013 | 6 years ago


5
Very Good

170 reviews

5
97%
4
3%
3
0%
2
0%
1
0%